About Us


weblogoWho are the Sound Rowers?

Sound Rowers Open Water Rowing and Paddling Club is a volunteer, non-profit organization whose sole function is to sponsor human-powered boat racing for weekend and world class athletes. Membership fees are low and provide a significant discount on race entry fees. Entry fees are detailed with each race description.

We sponsor a number of races throughout the Puget Sound area. These races are generally low-key, but highly competitive, usually with 30-50 boats involved. Distances range from 6 to 26 miles, with most falling into the 6-10 mile range. Ribbons are awarded for the first three places in a wide range of classifications, by gender but not by age.

Race participants include Olympians and octogenarians, men and women, and are roughly equal in numbers of kayakers and rowers, with a few canoeists and occasional exotic craft making regular appearances. Non-members are encouraged to participate, but are advised to be in suitable condition and of sufficient skill to complete the course at a steady, non-competitive pace. PFD’s and a whistle are required for each participant.

The club functions relatively loosely, with a general membership meeting held once a year in December, and other business taken care of as necessary by communication among the officers of the club. This is not primarily a social club, though there are often post-race functions at which awards are presented, refreshments served and participants socialize.

Officers for 2017

Board PositionNameemail
PresidentPeter Turcanpvturcan@comcast.net
Vice-President - Race Director LiasonShane Bakerkiwibaker@aol.com
Vice-President - Insurance and Legal IssuesGreg Gildaggilda@dci-engineers.com
Vice-President - TechnologyAmber Zippererwebmaster@soundrowers.org
TreasurerJeff Knakaljknakal@yahoo.com

Trustees

TermNameemail
2017-2019Peter Hirtlepehirtle@yahoo.com
2017-2019Kevin Olneyolneykc@hotmail.com
2018-2020Theresa KnakalTknakal@yahoo.com
2018-2020Steve Wellssteve@evergreenrowing.com
2019-2021Michelle Knowlenmknowlen84@gmail.com
2019-2021TBA

Communication

Communications PositionNameemail
Director of MembershipDon Kieslingsurfski@gmail.com
PhotographyMichael Lampimichael@lampi.us
FacebookPaul Guillien
InstagramLauren Brandkamp &
Michelle Knowlen
mknowlen84@gmail.com
Print PublicityTerrie RaginsTragins1@aol.com
WebmasterAmber Zippererwebmaster@soundrowers.org