About Us


weblogoWho are the Sound Rowers?

Sound Rowers Open Water Rowing and Paddling Club is a volunteer, non-profit organization whose sole function is to sponsor human-powered boat racing for weekend and world class athletes. Membership fees are low and provide a significant discount on race entry fees. Entry fees are detailed with each race description.

We sponsor a number of races throughout the Puget Sound area. These races are generally low-key, but highly competitive, usually with 30-50 boats involved. Distances range from 6 to 26 miles, with most falling into the 6-10 mile range. Ribbons are awarded for the first three places in a wide range of classifications, by gender but not by age.

Race participants include Olympians and septuagenarians, men and women, and are roughly equal in numbers of kayakers and rowers, with a few canoeists and occasional exotic craft making regular appearances. Non-members are encouraged to participate, but are advised to be in suitable condition and of sufficient skill to complete the course at a steady, non-competitive pace. PFD’s and a whistle are required for each participant.

The club functions relatively loosely, with a general membership meeting held once a year in December, and other business taken care of as necessary by communication among the officers of the club. This is not primarily a social club, though there are often post-race functions at which awards are presented, refreshments served and participants socialize.

Officers for 2017

Board PositionNameemail
PresidentTyler Petersonteaspoon5150@hotmail.com
Vice-President - Race Director LiasonShane Bakerkiwibaker@aol.com
Vice-President - Insurance and Legal IssuesGreg Gildaggilda@dci-engineers.com
Vice-President - TechnologyTraci Colewebmaster@www.soundrowers.org
TreasurerJeff Knakaljknakal@yahoo.com

Trustees

TermNameemail
2015-2017Bill Jacquettebjaquette@comcast.net
2015-2017Kim Georgekimg@wenatcheepaddle.org
2016-2018Tom Cartmill
2016-2018Alex Parkmanalex.parkman@gmail.com
2017-2019Peter Hirtlepehirtle@yahoo.com
2017-2019Kevin Olneyolneykc@hotmail.com

Communication

Communications PositionNameemail
BlogJeff Knakaljknakal@yahoo.com
Director of MembershipDon Kieslingsurfski@gmail.com
PhotographyMichael Lampimichael@lampi.us
PublicityTerrie RaginsTragins1@aol.com
WebmasterTraci Colewebmaster@www.soundrowers.org